Bono i U2 har blivit äldre - och klokare. Ur en intervju i NY-times:
Systemic change is required, but I get one eyebrow up when people want systemic change but don’t want to bother to turn up for the town-hall meeting. I’ve met a few of them. You know, I smuggled some tapes out of the Genoa G8 meeting, where the anti-globalization protesters were
getting the shite kicked out of them. The 2001 Group of 8 meeting in Genoa was marred by violence between anti-globalization protesters and the Italian police.
They were smashed up and came to me and asked me to smuggle out some tapes. I did, and when I got the tapes back to the people, I sat down and said: "Look, what are you doing here? What are we going to do?" And they were like: "We’re anarchists, dude. We’re not into that shit." I said: "Is it just that this stuff’s too boring for you? Can we find a model?" You still have to vote and get organized.

I ended up as an activist in a very different place from where I started. I thought that if we just redistributed resources, then we could solve every problem. I now know that’s not true. There’s a funny moment when you realize that as an activist: The off-ramp out of extreme poverty is, ugh, commerce, it’s entrepreneurial capitalism. I spend a lot of time in countries all over Africa, and they’re like, Eh, we wouldn’t mind a little more globalization actually.